Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2004 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Cambodia Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cambodia Government - 2004

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Kingdom of Cambodia
      conventional short form: Cambodia
      local short form: Kampuchea
      local long form: Preahreacheanacha Kampuchea (phonetic pronunciation)
      former: Kingdom of Cambodia, Khmer Republic, Democratic Kampuchea, People's Republic of Kampuchea, State of Cambodia

      Government type:
      multiparty democracy under a constitutional monarchy established in September 1993

      Phnom Penh

      Administrative divisions:
      20 provinces (khaitt, singular and plural) and 4 municipalities* (krong, singular and plural); Banteay Mean Chey, Batdambang, Kampong Cham, Kampong Chhnang, Kampong Spoe, Kampong Thum, Kampot, Kandal, Koh Kong, Keb*, Kracheh, Mondol Kiri, Otdar Mean Chey, Pailin*, Phnom Penh*, Pouthisat, Preah Sihanouk (formerly Kompong Som)*, Preah Vihear, Prey Veng, Rotanakir, Siem Reab, Stoeng Treng, Svay Rieng, Takao

      9 November 1953 (from France)

      National holiday:
      Independence Day, 9 November (1953)

      promulgated 21 September 1993

      Legal system:
      primarily a civil law mixture of French-influenced codes from the United Nations Transitional Authority in Cambodia (UNTAC) period, royal decrees, and acts of the legislature, with influences of customary law and remnants of communist legal theory; increasing influence of common law in recent years

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: King NORODOM Sihanouk (reinstated 24 September 1993)
      head of government: Prime Minister HUN Sen (since 30 November 1998) and Deputy Prime Ministers SAR Kheng (since 1993) and TOL Lah (since 1998)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers in theory appointed by the monarch; in practice named by the prime minister
      elections: none; the monarch is chosen by a Royal Throne Council; following legislative elections, a member of the majority party or majority coalition is named prime minister by the Chairman of the National Assembly and appointed by the king

      Legislative branch:
      bicameral consists of the National Assembly (123 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) and the Senate (61 seats; two members appointed by the monarch, two elected by the National Assembly, and 57 elected by "functional constituencies"; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: National Assembly - last held 27 July 2003 (next to be held in July 2008); Senate - last held 2 March 1999 (scheduled to be held in 2004 but delayed)
      election results: National Assembly - percent of vote by party - CPP 47%, SRP 22%, FUNCINPEC 21%, other 10%; seats by party - CPP 73, FUNCINPEC 26, SRP 24; Senate - percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - CPP 31, FUNCINPEC 21, SRP 7, other 2 (July 2003)

      Judicial branch:
      Supreme Council of the Magistracy (provided for in the constitution and formed in December 1997); Supreme Court (and lower courts) exercises judicial authority

      Political parties and leaders:
      Cambodian Pracheachon Party (Cambodian People's Party) or CPP [CHEA Sim]; National United Front for an Independent, Neutral, Peaceful, and Cooperative Cambodia or FUNCINPEC [Prince NORODOM Ranariddh]; Sam Rangsi Party or SRP [SAM Rangsi]

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      ACCT, ARF, AsDB, ASEAN, CP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICCt, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO (subscriber), ITU, NAM, OPCW (signatory), PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCO, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (observer)

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador ROLAND Eng
      FAX: [1] (202) 726-8381
      telephone: [1] (202) 726-7742
      chancery: 4530 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20011

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Charles Aaron RAY
      embassy: 27 EO Street 240, Phnom Penh
      mailing address: Box P, APO AP 96546
      telephone: [855] (23) 216-436/438
      FAX: [855] (23) 216-437/811

      Flag description:
      three horizontal bands of blue (top), red (double width), and blue with a white three-towered temple representing Angkor Wat outlined in black in the center of the red band; only flag in the world to incorporate a building in its design

      NOTE: The information regarding Cambodia on this page is re-published from the 2004 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cambodia Government 2004 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cambodia Government 2004 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 21-May-04
    Copyright © 2004 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)