Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2004 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Faroe Islands Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Faroe Islands Government - 2004

      Country name:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Faroe Islands
      local short form: Foroyar
      local long form: none

      Dependency status:
      part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark since 1948

      Government type:


      Administrative divisions:
      none (part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 49 municipalities

      none (part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      National holiday:
      Olaifest, 29 July

      5 June 1953 (Danish constitution)

      Legal system:

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen MARGRETHE II of Denmark (since 14 January 1972), represented by High Commissioner Birgit KLEIS, chief administrative officer (since 1 November 2001)
      election results: Anfinn KALLSBERG elected prime minister; percent of parliamentary vote - 52.8%
      note: coalition of Social Democrats, Union Party, and People's Party
      elections: the monarch is hereditary; high commissioner appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by the Faroese Parliament; election last held 30 April 2002 (next to be held no later than April 2006)
      head of government: Prime Minister Joannes EIDESGAARD (since 3 February 2004)
      cabinet: Landsstyri appointed by the prime minister

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Faroese Parliament or Logting (32 seats; members are elected by popular vote on a proportional basis from the seven constituencies to serve four-year terms)
      election results: percent of vote by party - Union Party 23.7%, Social Democrats 21.8%, Republican Party 21.7%, People's Party 20.6%, Center Party 5.2%, Independence Party 4.6%; seats by party - Union Party 7, Social Democrats 7, Republican Party 8, People's Party 7, Center Party 2, Independence Party 1
      note: election of 2 seats to the Danish Parliament was last held on 20 November 2001 (next to be held no later than November 2005); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Republican Party 1, Union Party 1
      elections: last held 20 January 2004 (next to be held no later than January 2008)

      Judicial branch:

      Political parties and leaders:
      Center Party [Tordur NICLASEN]; Independence Party [Helena Dam a NEYSTABO]; People's Party [Oli BRECKMANN]; Republican Party [Finnabogi ISAKSON]; Social Democratic Party [Joannes EIDESGAARD]; Union Party [Edmund JOENSEN]

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      IMO (associate), NC, NIB

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Flag description:
      white with a red cross outlined in blue extending to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted toward the hoist side in the style of the Dannebrog (Danish flag)

      NOTE: The information regarding Faroe Islands on this page is re-published from the 2004 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Faroe Islands Government 2004 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Faroe Islands Government 2004 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 21-May-04
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)