Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2004 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Macau Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Macau Government - 2004

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Macau Special Administrative Region
      conventional short form: Macau
      local short form: Aomen (Chinese); Macau (Portuguese)
      local long form: Aomen Tebie Xingzhengqu (Chinese); Regiao Administrativa Especial de Macau (Portuguese)

      Dependency status:
      special administrative region of China

      Government type:
      limited democracy

      Administrative divisions:
      none (special administrative region of China)

      none (special administrative region of China)

      National holiday:
      National Day (Anniversary of the Founding of the People's Republic of China), 1 October (1949); note - 20 December 1999 is celebrated as Macau Special Administrative Region Establishment Day

      Basic Law, approved in March 1993 by China's National People's Congress, is Macau's "mini-constitution"

      Legal system:
      based on Portuguese civil law system

      direct election 18 years of age, universal for permanent residents living in Macau for the past seven years; indirect election limited to organizations registered as "corporate voters" (257 are currently registered) and a 300-member Election Committee drawn from broad regional groupings, municipal organizations, and central government bodies

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President of China HU Jintao (since 15 March 2003)
      elections: chief executive chosen by a 300-member selection committee for up to two five-year terms
      cabinet: Executive Council consists of all five government secretaries, three legislators, and two businessmen
      head of government: Chief Executive Edmund HO Hau-wah (since 20 December 1999)

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Legislative Council or LEGCO (27 seats; 10 elected by popular vote, 10 by indirect vote, and 7 appointed by the chief executive; members serve four-year terms)
      election results: percent of vote - NA%; seats by political bloc - Entertainment Industry 3, pro-democracy 2, pro-Beijing Labor Union 2, pro-Beijing Neighborhood Association 2, pro-business 1
      elections: last held 23 September 2001 (next to be held 2005)

      Judicial branch:
      The Court of Final Appeal in the Macau Special Administrative Region

      Political parties and leaders:
      there are no formal political parties, however, there are civic associations that, for purposes of legislative voting, join together to form political blocs

      Political pressure groups and leaders:
      Catholic Church [Domingos LAM, bishop]; Macau Society of Tourism and Entertainment or STDM [Stanley HO, managing director]; Union for Democracy Development [Antonio NG Kuok-cheong, leader]

      International organization participation:
      IMO (associate), Interpol (sub-bureau), ISO (correspondent), UNESCO (associate), WCO, WMO, WToO (associate), WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (special administrative region of China)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      the US has no offices in Macau; US interests are monitored by the US Consulate General in Hong Kong

      Flag description:
      light green with a lotus flower above a stylized bridge and water in white, beneath an arc of five gold, five-pointed stars: one large in center of arc and four smaller

      NOTE: The information regarding Macau on this page is re-published from the 2004 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Macau Government 2004 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Macau Government 2004 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 21-May-04
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)