Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2004 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Papua New Guinea Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Papua New Guinea Government - 2004

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Independent State of Papua New Guinea
      conventional short form: Papua New Guinea
      abbreviation: PNG
      former: Territory of Papua and New Guinea

      Government type:
      constitutional monarchy with parliamentary democracy

      Port Moresby

      Administrative divisions:
      20 provinces; Bougainville, Central, Chimbu, Eastern Highlands, East New Britain, East Sepik, Enga, Gulf, Madang, Manus, Milne Bay, Morobe, National Capital, New Ireland, Northern, Sandaun, Southern Highlands, Western, Western Highlands, West New Britain

      16 September 1975 (from the Australian-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday:
      Independence Day, 16 September (1975)

      16 September 1975

      Legal system:
      based on English common law

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Albert KIPALAN (since 13 November 2003)
      note: Sir Pato KAKRAYA was elected Governor General on 4 December 2003; he was scheduled to be sworn in on 20 January 2004 but the election was challenged; Bill SKATE was acting Governor General
      head of government: Prime Minister Sir Michael SOMARE (since 2 August 2002); Deputy Prime Minister Moses MALADINA (since 1 December 2003)
      cabinet: National Executive Council appointed by the governor general on the recommendation of the prime minister
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the National Executive Council; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually is appointed prime minister by the governor general

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral National Parliament - sometimes referred to as the House of Assembly (109 seats, 89 elected from open electorates and 20 from provincial electorates; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 15-29 June 2002 and April and May 2003; completed in May 2003 (voting in the Southern Highlands was not completed during the June 2002 election period); next to be held not later than June 2007
      election results: percent of vote by party - National Alliance 18%, URP 13%, PDM 12%, PPP 8%, Pangu 6%, PAP 5%, PLP 4%, others 34%; seats by party - National Alliance 19, UPR 14, PDM 13, PPP 8, Pangu 6, PAP 5, PLP 4, others 40; note - association with political parties is fluid (2003)

      Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court (the chief justice is appointed by the governor general on the proposal of the National Executive Council after consultation with the minister responsible for justice; other judges are appointed by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission)

      Political parties and leaders:
      Christian Democratic Party [Muki TARANUPI, party leader]; Melanesian Alliance Party or MAP [Bernard NAROKOBI, party leader]; National Alliance Party or NA [Michael SOMARE, party leader; George MANOA, party president]; National Party [John MUNNULL, party leader]; Papua and Niugini Union Party or PANGU [Rabbie NAMALU, party leader]; Papua New Guinea National Party [Robert LAK, party leader]; People's Action Party or PAP [Moses MALADINA, party leader]; People's Democratic Movement or PDM [Sir Mekere MORAUTA, party leader]; People's Labor Party or PLP [Peter YAMA, party leader]; People's National Congress or PNC [Bill SKATE, party leader]; People's Progressive Party or PPP [Andrew BAING, party leader]; Pipol's First Party [Luther WENGE, party leader]; Rural People's Party [Peter NAMUS, party leader]; United Resources Party or URP [Tim NEVILLE, party leader] (2003)

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      ACP, APEC, ARF, AsDB, C, CP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OPCW, PIF, Sparteca, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCO, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Evan Jeremy PAKI
      FAX: [1] (202) 745-3679
      telephone: [1] (202) 745-3680
      chancery: 1779 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Suite 805, Washington, DC 20036

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Robert W. FITTS
      embassy: Douglas Street, Port Moresby
      mailing address: 4240 Port Moresby PI, US Department of State, Washington DC 20521-4240
      telephone: [675] 321-1455
      FAX: [675] 321-3423

      Flag description:
      divided diagonally from upper hoist-side corner; the upper triangle is red with a soaring yellow bird of paradise centered; the lower triangle is black with five, white, five-pointed stars of the Southern Cross constellation centered

      NOTE: The information regarding Papua New Guinea on this page is re-published from the 2004 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Papua New Guinea Government 2004 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Papua New Guinea Government 2004 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 21-May-04
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)