Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2004 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Virgin Islands Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Virgin Islands Government - 2004

      Country name:
      conventional long form: United States Virgin Islands
      conventional short form: Virgin Islands
      former: Danish West Indies

      Dependency status:
      organized, unincorporated territory of the US with policy relations between the Virgin Islands and the US under the jurisdiction of the Office of Insular Affairs, US Department of the Interior

      Government type:

      Charlotte Amalie

      Administrative divisions:
      none (territory of the US); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are three islands at the second order; Saint Croix, Saint John, Saint Thomas

      National holiday:
      Transfer Day (from Denmark to the US), 27 March (1917)

      Revised Organic Act of 22 July 1954

      Legal system:
      based on US laws

      18 years of age; universal; note - island residents are US citizens but do not vote in US presidential elections

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President George W. BUSH of the US (since 20 January 2001)
      election results: Dr. Charles Wesley TURNBULL reelected governor; percent of vote - Dr. Charles Wesley TURNBULL (Democrat) 50.5%, John de JONGH 24.4%
      elections: US president and vice president elected on the same ticket for four-year terms; governor and lieutenant governor elected on the same ticket by popular vote for four-year terms; election last held 5 November 2002 (next to be held NA November 2006)
      head of government: Governor Dr. Charles Wesley TURNBULL (since 5 January 1999)
      cabinet: NA

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Senate (15 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve two-year terms)
      elections: last held 6 November 2002 (next to be held 2 November 2004)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - Democratic Party 10, ICM 2, independent 3
      note: the Virgin Islands elects one non-voting representative to the US House of Representatives; election last held 6 November 2002 (next to be held 2 November 2004); results - Donna M. CHRISTIAN-CHRISTENSON (Democrat) reelected

      Judicial branch:
      US District Court of the Virgin Islands (under Third Circuit jurisdiction); Territorial Court (judges appointed by the governor for 10-year terms)

      Political parties and leaders:
      Democratic Party [Arturo WATLINGTON]; Independent Citizens' Movement or ICM [Usie RICHARDS]; Republican Party [Gary SPRAUVE]

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      Interpol (subbureau), IOC

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (territory of the US)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      none (territory of the US)

      Flag description:
      white, with a modified US coat of arms in the center between the large blue initials V and I; the coat of arms shows a yellow eagle holding an olive branch in one talon and three arrows in the other with a superimposed shield of vertical red and white stripes below a blue panel

      NOTE: The information regarding Virgin Islands on this page is re-published from the 2004 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Virgin Islands Government 2004 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Virgin Islands Government 2004 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 21-May-04
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)